FANDOM


In Apex Predator, there are some cases in which multiple cards are placed on top of one another to represent a single object. This is called a stack. All of the following situations result in stacks being created:

The order of cards in a stack should be specified on the pages about individual mechanics. In general, attackable cards go on top, cards which modify the top card come next, and cards being produced are placed face-down at the bottom.

There are three important rules to remember about stacks: first, if a card in a stack moves, all cards beneath it should move as well. Second, only the top card of a stack can be attacked directly. Third, if the top card of a stack is destroyed during the cleanup phase, you must perform the "stack check" to determine what happens to the other cards in the stack.

Stack check Edit

If the top card of a stack is destroyed, then...

...any face-down cards that it was producing are immediately removed from play. The player does not receive any refund on resources spent if a card is destroyed before it is completed.
  • Example: A Festering Corpse is researching the Fatigue upgrade. The Festering Corpse is destroyed, so the upgrade is destroyed as well.
  • The only exception is when multiple beetles are helping with a single morph; in this case, all of those beetles must be destroyed before the face-down card is destroyed.
...any cards which modified the top card are also removed from play.
  • Example: A Female Rat has a Warhammer, Craftsman, and Carrier card all attached to her. If she dies, all of those cards are removed from play as well.
...any excess damage counters can then be distributed to attackable cards underneath it by the player who attacked.
  • Example: A Lizard player has a Well with 3 Gulbars underneath it. A Rat player deals 7 blunt damage to the Well, which has 4 health and no blunt armor. 4 blunt damage destroys the Well, and so there are 3 extra damage counters. The Rat player may then deal the excess damage to the Gulbars however he chooses, at which point another armor check should take place.

Note: In general, if a card has a tech requirement, and that requirement is removed from the game, the card is not destroyed. For example, the Agama requires a Temple of Ctenos before it can be produced. If the Lizard player has two Agamas in play and two more being built, but his Temple of Ctenos is destroyed, those Agamas are not affected. Beetle Forms are an exception to this rule.

Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.